When is a Good Time to Take a Break from Social Media?

Have you ever been told that too much social media can lead to not focusing on the things you love and lead to procrastination? Let me explain; it is so easy to lose yourself in others. In other words, self-care is very neglected in our society, and when we need it, we often put it on the back burner and feed ourselves on endless social media to feel better.

Without self-care, we become burned-out and emotionless zombies. I remember during the pandemic, I felt like this and a bit burned out from everything. However, instead of taking a break, I worked myself into the ground and became more anxious and frustrated.

If I had taken some time to rest and take some time off, I could have reset myself and come back stronger and refreshed. Ultimately, I did this, and I could pass the exam that was stressing me out before.

What also helped was staying away from comparisons in this kind of situation when it comes to social media. I realized that the people who care about me would want me to succeed and are cheering me on the way. In short, always prioritize a logically sound mindset in times like this.

How often have you gone on social media to compare your life to others when you’re overwhelmed and down for the count, only to feel worse than you previously did? This is one of the most frequent things we do in situations like this, but there are better ways to feel more accomplished in life and make the situation less scary than it actually is. For one, instead of comparing yourself to others, ask yourself, is there anything I am not doing that is keeping me from accomplishing my goals?

Most people who are honest with themselves will admit that they might not do enough of something or need some confidence to go after what they want to accomplish in life. Most people also are afraid of asking for help too because of their own pride. Sometimes all it takes is somebody else encouraging you or teaching you something in a way that is more relatable to you.

Sometimes all it takes is one small idea to start something bigger in life. John F Kennedy once said, “A man may die, nations may rise and fall, but an idea lives on.” Sometimes, all it takes is an idea to accomplish big things too.  

In contrast to that, it is also good to start slow and map out a plan on what you want to achieve first. First, start with one goal each day. Then, slowly taper off social media until the necessary work is finished. In closing, when is the perfect time to take a break from social media? When it overcomes you with negativity and makes you feel inadequate when you compare yourself to others.

Leave a comment

Published by NickAlbano23

This blog came into existence because I finally got back into writing again. I wanted an outlet to write what was on my heart. I hope you enjoy my work! Contact info- Email: Nickalbano76@gmail.com

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started